top of page

Stage 5 and 6 (Penguins)


Penguins Swimming in Sea

During Swim England Learn to Swim Stage 5, swimmers develop their skills in treading water, learn the correct arm pulls for all four strokes and learn how to do handstands and somersaults.

This means they will develop their technique and perform all strokes to the Swim England Expected Standards.

The emphasis is on ensuring all work done in the previous stages is developed further.

Swim England Learn to Swim Stage 6 helps swimmers to prepare for exercise, while developing an efficient technique for all four strokes and further developing surface dives.

The effective swimming skills taught include coordination, breathing and an understanding of water safety.

Within this stage, swimmers will work on all the other strokes, including streamlining, improving their technique with both their arms and their legs.

Swimming Trainer with Students
Swimming Coach
bottom of page